Skip to content

Just Curious – 02/20/09

February 20, 2009

small_coffeeWhat kind of coffee do you buy at home?  Folgers?  Maxwell House?  Millstone?

Regular or Decaf?

Do you buy whole bean or ground?

Brewed?  French press?  Percolator?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2009 8:03 AM

    Folgers 100% Colombian. That’s all my hubs will drink. I like to venture out and try new different coffees so I pick up those Mill House single pot little bags. So many different flavors. I also try every new coffee creamer that comes along. I LOVE coffee!!! Some days waaaaay too much!

  2. February 20, 2009 8:05 AM

    Too many questions for me!
    Have not had enough coffee, yet!
    Well, to answer what kind….Dunkin Donuts or Starbucks.
    I want regular, but the Dr. said, “DECAF!” only…
    I usually get it already done up from the Starbucks crew.
    The Dunkin Donuts is already done for you.
    Dunkin Donuts is just called Dunkin Decaf…Starbucks, I like Sumatra or Verona, I am curious who puts their coffee in the freezer, frig, or cool area shelf…after they open it. I have mixed reviews on that. Just curious….

  3. February 20, 2009 9:41 AM

    I love Folgers. No decaf for me. I’ve tried different coffee’s but Folgers is like “home” to me and I love the way it tastes. I use French Vanilla cream and 2 lumps of sugar.

  4. February 20, 2009 12:10 PM

    You know I’ve heard people putting coffee in the freezer, it’s supposed to last longer. Ours never lasts long enough to go bad, we go through 2 big containers a week. I wonder how long it takes for coffee to go bad. Great question!

  5. February 20, 2009 12:42 PM

    It’s Folgers classic roast for me! No decaf here either! I like to get a bag of Starbucks Breakfast Blend from time to time also. I don’t doctor mine up at all either. I like mine straight up black.

    I wrote a post last month about Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee last month. You may want to read it if you haven’t already. Blue Mountain is HANDS DOWN, the best coffee I have EVER had!

  6. February 20, 2009 12:45 PM

    I have wondered about the whole coffee in the freezer thing myself. I never have done that but because I am the only person in my house that drinks coffee, I do notice a big difference between the first pot I brew from the can and the last. The last few pots always tastes kinda “stale”. I think I will try keeping the coffee container in the freezer and see if that makes any difference.

    One of those large Folgers containers lasts me about 2 weeks.

  7. February 20, 2009 12:49 PM

    Hi Gary, Coffee I hate to admit this but I’m allergic to coffee I brake out with a rash on my back and face. Here the part I don’t want to admit. I Love Coffee! I found one brand I can drink it’s Colter Coffee Sumantra blend. I like my coffee black but occasionally I whoop it up with a little cream and sugar.

  8. February 20, 2009 1:09 PM

    Hi Starla!

    Allergic to coffee? That’s terrible! I don’t know what I would do! I’m glad you found a brand you can safely drink though!

  9. gwizard permalink
    February 20, 2009 2:55 PM

    Walmart special, the brown kind!

    • February 20, 2009 8:06 PM

      Never had the brown Walmart special blend. 🙂

  10. gwizard permalink
    February 20, 2009 3:01 PM

    It has to be tanked up with gogo juice for me. I am not sure about the freezer thing it never last long enough in my house to go stale. I drink coffee from the time I awake until I go to bed everyday!

  11. February 20, 2009 3:42 PM

    Gary, maybe that is why I do not sleep well! You think????

  12. Neighbor Nancy permalink
    February 20, 2009 9:08 PM

    Did you ever notice that everyone thinks they make good coffee? Kinda like everyone thinks they are a good driver?

    • February 20, 2009 9:30 PM

      LOL! You know, I have never really thought about it but you are absolutely right!! ROFL!!

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting Neighbor! I hope you come back again soon!!

  13. February 20, 2009 10:53 PM

    Gary, I think you know my answer to this question, LOL! But speaking of Jamaica, I do love Ting!

    • February 20, 2009 11:19 PM

      ROFL!! I wrote that post just for you Morocco!! I KNOW how you just LOOOOOOVE a good cup of coffee! ROFL!!

      I didn’t have any Ting when I was in Jamaica. 😦 It was on my list of things to do when I was there but never got around to it. 😦 Hey, that gives me an excuse to go back!!! 🙂

  14. Sue permalink
    February 21, 2009 8:50 AM

    The one can I’ve purchased is Folgers Classic Roast 1/2 caff. Regular coffee makes my heart thump out of my chest! I do keep mine in the fridge (not the freezer) and it seems to be keeping just fine.

  15. February 21, 2009 4:48 PM

    Gary–you are so bad!

    I can’t wait to go back. But I noticed that they carry Ting at our international grocery store here in town.

    • February 21, 2009 11:21 PM

      I can’t wait to go back either! I LOVE it there!!!! My wife and I went to Negril…..where did you go??

      I don’t think there is ANYWHERE here to find Ting. 😦

  16. February 22, 2009 5:55 PM

    Although I am fairly savvy in the kitchen, I cannot make a good cup of coffee. It’s not really a problem, since I don’t drink much coffee anyway. I do have a little 4-cup Mr. Coffee drip machine that I’ve used about 5 times since I bought it before Christmas.

    When I feel like having a cup of coffee, I’ll usually just pop over to Dunkin’ Donuts. Or, if I’m feeling particularly confident, I’ll head over to the swankier coffee shop in town. It’s a little pricier, but the barista is awfully cute. I guess the cost pays for the coffee and the eye candy.

Leave a Reply

