Skip to content

Just Curious – 02/19/09

February 19, 2009

wormWhat is the strangest thing you have ever ingested?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 7:36 AM

    Coffee!

  2. February 19, 2009 8:17 AM

    That picture of that worm scared me….I don’t like worms!
    The strangest thing…hmmm….snail probably. I’ll never eat it again, but I was at this fancy restaurant and someone ordered it so i tried it. Pretty nasty and why people choose to eat that stuff is beyond me!

  3. February 19, 2009 8:20 AM

    These strange looking mussels. In a restaurant in Galicia. In english they are known as goose neck barnacles, I believe.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pollicipes_pollicipes

  4. February 19, 2009 8:35 AM

    I’m sorry Nikki, I didn’t mean to scare you with a photo of a big bad WORM. ROFL!!

    KNOWING I probably would not like snails, I have wanted to try them anyway. If anything, just so I can say I have at least tried them. 🙂

  5. February 19, 2009 8:36 AM

    Those ARE strange looking eat!! Did they taste better than they look??? 🙂

  6. February 19, 2009 8:39 AM

    They were pretty tasty, albeit somewhat hard to get to. In Spain they are known as “percebes”.

    The thing is there lodged on to cliffs and rocks in the tidal area. Every now and then someone dies trying to collect them. If you have ever seen the size of the waves on the galician coast you would know why.

  7. February 19, 2009 8:42 AM

    If they were tasty then that’s all that matters! I can’t imagine they taste good enough to risk your life for though. Harvesting them must bring in some pretty good money?

  8. February 19, 2009 9:00 AM

    Tripe! I won’t even go there, Gary!

  9. gwizard permalink
    February 19, 2009 9:33 AM

    Gary, You have created a following of folks “Good Job”!!! I have had some really good snails, some really good suszi, some good beef tongue, but the wildest thing I have ever had was……………………….EMU and Ostridge tasted just like a good beef steak!!!!!
    Fried Aligator was good , too!

  10. gwizard permalink
    February 19, 2009 9:35 AM

    I think it is fun to explore new foods and it is something I enjoy doing. I have my wife starting to enjoy doing it, too!

  11. February 19, 2009 10:14 AM

    I love escargot (snails). I always have. I have to think all the spiders that crawl in my mouth when I’m sleeping. You’ve heard those stories!!! I wouldn’t ingest anything really weird. I’m not brave enough.

    LOL Nik!!!! LMAO!!!!!!!!

  12. February 19, 2009 10:55 AM

    Never had tripe either. Looks NASTY! 🙂

  13. February 19, 2009 10:59 AM

    I have never had sushi, beef tounge, emu or ostrich. I have had alligator and that was really good! Tastes like chicken. ROFL!

  14. February 19, 2009 11:02 AM

    The next time you go out for escargot, you should ask Nikki to come along! She LOVES escargot!!

    ROFL!!

  15. February 19, 2009 11:14 AM

    I have had buffalo, and it is DELICIOUS! If you have not had it, you don’t know what you are missing. It’s VERY VERY lean, almost no grease when cooking it and it tastes VERY close to beef!

    I have had kangaroo and it’s DELICIOUS as well. Very tender, very juicy and full of flavor!

    I suppose the most interesting things I have ingested would have to be antelope testicals and calamari (squid).

    There is a bar & grill here that at least used to serve antelope testicals. The bar & grill also owns the driving range next to it. The antelope testicals were appropriately named “bucket of balls” on the menu. ROFL!

    I had calamari at a “fine dining” restaurant here where I live. I liked it but it’s definitely a texture food. There is not a lot of taste really, it’s all in the texture of this dish.

  16. gwizard permalink
    February 19, 2009 12:11 PM

    Where do you live Wyoming????????

  17. gwizard permalink
    February 19, 2009 12:12 PM

    It was early and man you sure could tell by my spelling!!!!!

  18. February 19, 2009 4:17 PM

    Okay first of all, not fair picking on little ol me when I’m not around to defend myself!
    I have an immense fear of worms OKAY! My brother tormented me with the song…I guess I’ll go eat worms…long ones, short ones, skinny ones, fat ones….omg okay already! Is it that abnormal to be afraid of something that can be cut in many parts and still never die…you can’t even tell the head from the ass!!! Man they freak me out! Having a boy who likes to fish with worms is my worst nightmare come true!

    • February 19, 2009 8:10 PM

      NOT FAIR? What in life is “fair”? ROFL!!!

      I must admit, I have never met anyone with an “immense fear of worms” until today. I know some people that would rather not touch them but not an “immense fear” of them. I did have a female friend that was petrified of “little people” though. They just FREAKED HER OUT!! ROFLMAO!!!

  19. February 19, 2009 8:14 PM

    I have an “immense fear” of being touched by one. Scared that they will hurt me? No, but I would never ever think about touching one of those things!!! I’d rather kiss a snake than hold a worm. I know they are harmless…doesn’t make my fear of being touched by one any less!

  20. February 20, 2009 5:46 AM

    Tripe rules. Really. Its tender and flavorful and in the hand of somenone who knows how to prepare it, truly wonderful. Like tongue. Actually all of the lesser quality meats are really good, if you know how to cook ‘em.

  21. February 20, 2009 9:37 AM

    Haha ohhhh man. My dad and I are collectors of weird food stories. He’s got me beat by a few hundred miles because of the squirrel brain omelets (in Louisiana) and domestic cat dumplings (in Ghana).

    As for me…hmmm…jellyfish and sea snail are probably the oddest things I’ve eaten so far, sadly. I’ve done the alligator/emu/octopus trifecta already, so it’s time to move up a tier. I plan on trying kangaroo when I go to Australia this summer…how did you like it? Hope I can find some other interesting foods, too. Kookaburra egg omelets, maybe?!

    • February 20, 2009 1:13 PM

      Squirrel brain omlets?? YIKES!! Domestic cat dumplings? YIKES!! Did he like these dishes???? Your dad must have testicals the size of bowling balls to eat these dishes. ROFLMAO!! I don’t think I could do it!!!

      I LOVED kangaroo!!! Have it cooked like you like your beef steak cooked! If you like you steaks medium well, then you will like your kangaroo medium well also!

      Kookaburra egg omlets!! HA! Your killing me Riot!!! 🙂

  22. February 20, 2009 2:31 PM

    Haha he actually liked both dishes, but he’s too uncomfortable to eat cat again because he kept thinking of our little pet back home. It was one of those instances where if he didn’t eat there was no telling when he’d be able to again since he was in Africa at the time. I think it all kind of boils down to being taught to never turn up your nose at a dish so as not to insult your hosts for him.

    For me it’s because I just enjoy having stories to tell. Though nothing beats one of my best friends and his consumption of PORCUPINE BLOOD shots when he was hiking through Vietnam. That probably beats all when it comes to people I know.

    Oh man it’ll rock so hard to sink my teeth into a medium-rare kangaroo! I’ve heard the steak analogy, too. Which is awesome because too many things “taste like chicken” supposedly. I may have to add to this list once I get back! Too bad the endangered species over there are probably the most delicious >_>

  23. February 20, 2009 8:22 PM

    Well if he liked the dishes, that’s all that matters. I just don’t think I could eat them. LOL

    Porcupine blood shots? I can’t say that makes me want to take a trip to Vietnam anytime soon, or later for that matter. ROFL!!

    OH YEAH, you are gonna love kangaroo!! It doesn’t taste like chicken AT ALL. 🙂

  24. February 22, 2009 6:04 PM

    This is a tough question, since several things I eat are considered strange to others, but normal to me.

    I had kangaroo once… very rich. I had it at a hotel somewhere between Bangkok and Chiang Mai, wrapped in phyllo and served with some sauce I don’t remember the origins of. I can’t think of anything stranger I’ve ingested.

Leave a Reply

