Skip to content

Just Curious – 02/16/09

February 16, 2009

hitchhike  Have you ever given a ride to a hitchhiker?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2009 10:25 AM

    No, I never have. I have no reason other than “back in the day,” “women” were told not to ever pick anyone up. Do many people even bother hitchhiking anymore?

  2. February 16, 2009 10:59 AM

    No I haven’t. I don’t drive really anywhere out of my town aka my comfort zone!

  3. February 16, 2009 11:33 AM

    I never have either. People are just too “freaky”. I see a hitchhiker maybe once a year at most. NOTHING like when I was a kid. I used to see them all the time when I was a kid.

    I remember riding in the back seat of the car with my sister and seeing a hitchhiker. My mom would turn around and look at me and say “Now Gary, don’t EVER give a ride to a hitchhiker”. “You just don’t know what people are going to do”. Then I would think to myself mom, I’m only 7 and even though my Huffy DOES have a large seat that COULD fit two people, I don’t think my legs are strong enough to pedal with a grown-up on it. Besides, I don’t think he is looking for a ride to my friend’s house anyway. 😉

  4. February 16, 2009 3:43 PM

    Well, do dogs count? One time I picked up a stray dog in the neighborhood and went looking for his house. He needed a ride!

  5. February 16, 2009 4:38 PM

    Sure, we can count that Luisa! That was a very nice thing of you to do! 🙂

  6. February 19, 2009 11:18 AM

    Yes, I use to pick up hitchhicker’s once in awhile, years ago,not now. when I lived in Hawaii I did not bring my car so I use to Hitchhike a fair amount. A couple of times people said they stopped because I looked so innocent they were worried. I was naive and very lucky.

    • February 19, 2009 11:31 AM

      Naive and very lucky? You must have been YOUNG then! 🙂

      I had a friend that hitchhiked from Orlando, Florida back home here in Northern Illinois once. That’s a long story but he said he didn’t have any problems or anything with anyone that picked him up. “Riders on the Storm” by The Doors always comes to mind when thinking about hitchhiking and hitchhikers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

