Skip to content

Movie Review: “Mad Money”

February 5, 2009

Cast

  • Diane Keaton as Bridget Cardigan
  • Katie Holmes as Jackie Truman
  • Queen Latifah as Nina Brewster
  • Ted Danson as Don Cardigan

Rated: PG-13

Genre: Comedy, Crime, Romance

Nina (Latifah) and Jackie (Holmes) are two of many employees with mundane jobs at the high-security Kansas City Federal Reserve Bank. Their lives change forever when career mom Bridget (Diane Keaton) takes a job there as a cleaning woman after learning that she and her downsized husband, Don (Ted Danson), are hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt. Being surrounded by stacks and stacks of money is too much for Bridget to bear, and she corrals Nina and Jackie into taking the biggest risk of their lives: sneaking out of the bank money that is removed from circulation and about to be shredded. Amazingly, their scheme works, and soon the three are fast friends and the cash is piling up. But will they ever have enough “mad money,” or will greed be their downfall?

I liked this movie!  It wouldn’t rank as one of my favorites but definately worth the time to watch on DVD.  The cast was very good and the acting matched.  They all seemed to “click” well together!  The plot was good and held my interest very well!

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2009 10:31 AM

    Honestly the only thing keeping me from watching this movie is Katie Holmes. I’m not a fan, was she good???

  2. February 6, 2009 11:33 AM

    Yeah, she was good in this movie! Diane Keaton and Ted Danson really make this movie!

  3. February 6, 2009 11:49 AM

    Well who doesn’t love Diane Keaton??? I’ll have to go rent it. Have you seen the new Batman. We just watched it last weekend. I haven’t seen all the others but it kept my attention, whi

  4. February 6, 2009 11:51 AM

    opps….as I was saying! It kept my attention which says a lot! Heath’s character was unreal!

  5. February 6, 2009 11:52 AM

    No, I haven’t seen it yet. LOL We borrowed it from my sister-in-law at Christmas but never got around to watching it. 😦 I think she has it back at her house now. I have heard NOTHING but good things about it though.

  6. February 6, 2009 1:16 PM

    I saw this one a while back, but I do remember I liked it!

Leave a Reply

