Skip to content

Shoot Something….Anything!

January 29, 2009

logan_tvBeing a wedding photographer is awesome!  I get to meet a lot of great people and share the joys of their special day.  I love to watch a bride and groom smile as they view their wedding photos that I shot for them.  I find it very self gratifying.

I became a wedding photographer just a few short years ago.  What started as a hobby is slowly becoming a new career.  I started by working for a well known local studio to “learn the tricks of the trade”.  I quickly found that there is MUCH more to wedding photography than anticipated.  I already knew how to shoot well, or so I thought, but had never actually shot a wedding.  Before going into business for myself, I thought it would probably be a good idea to get some actual weddings under my belt first.  I mean, who the hell is going to hire a photographer to shoot their wedding when they have never actually shot a wedding?

After spending a few years with the studio and getting those weddings under my belt, I have decided that now is the time to go into business for myself.  All the planning has commenced and I am slowly getting things going.  Planning packages, designing a web site, advertising and everything else involved with starting your own business.

With all of this planning and designing going on, I have noticed that I haven’t been shooting anything.  LOL  I haven’t picked up my camera since Christmas!  I’m going to use this post as a friendly reminder to shoot something….anything every day or at LEAST every other day.  Nothing in particular, just SOMETHING.  I started this morning actually.  I got my camera, strapped on my trusty 50mm lens and started looking around the house for SOMETHING to shoot.  Preferably something of interest but not mandatory.  I walked into the living room and found my four year old son watching Spongebob most comfortably so I shot him.  Errrr….took a photo of him.  🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 7:39 PM

    I really like the angle of this and the way his feet are totally in focus and as you pan up, it goes out.

  2. January 29, 2009 9:36 PM

    Thanks Joy!

  3. January 29, 2009 10:14 PM

    I am amazed! I never knew! You have a talent! I will be anxious to see your pictures!

  4. January 29, 2009 10:29 PM

    Well now you know. LOL As time goes on, I’m sure I will divulge more about myself probably on my “About” page that I STILL haven’t updated. 🙂

    Stay tuned Luisa….more photos to come.

  5. January 31, 2009 10:06 AM

    The depth of field is great. I love photographing children – they make the best subjects.

  6. January 31, 2009 10:17 AM

    Thanks Megan!

    Children do make the best subjects!

Leave a Reply

