Skip to content

Movie Review: Righteous Kill

January 17, 2009

Cast

  • Robert De Niro as Detective Tom “Turk” Cowen
  • Al Pacino as Detective David “Rooster” Fisk
  • Carla Gugino as Karen Corelli
  • John Leguizamo as Detective Perez
  • Donnie Wahlberg as Detective Riley
  • 50 Cent” as “Spider”
  • Brian Dennehy as Lieutenant Hingis

Rated: R

Although this movie didn’t receive very good ratings from the critics, I really liked it.  How can you go wrong with a cast like this?  De Niro is my all-time favorite actor with Pacino in my top five and neither of them let me down with this movie.  I thought the plot of the movie was good although done before or very close to others, but the interesting twist that takes place makes it all ok.

Thirty year veteran partners Turk and Rooster become involved in the investigation of a series of vigilante serial murders of “lowlifes” that really got what they deserved.  The killings are linked by the killer leaving poems at the scene of the crime.  There is a back-story about Turk planting a gun to put away a child killer who was about to walk free.  This planting of the gun haunts the pair throughout the film and pair of younger detectives, Perez and Riley begin to think that Turk may be the killer.  Turk certainly has a violent streak and expresses it throughout.

My Rating:  3 1/2 out of 5 stars

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Doraz permalink
    January 17, 2009 1:24 PM

    I love Pacino and DeNiro….I’m Italian, what can I say? I have to admit that I figured it out, though. I wish I hadn’t! It was a good movie, I agree.

  2. garym1970 permalink*
    January 17, 2009 3:39 PM

    You know, I am usually pretty good at figuring it out but this one fooled me. I think that’s why I liked this movie better than the critics did.

Leave a Reply

