Skip to content

Italian Beef Sandwiches (Chicago Style)

January 4, 2009

 Looking for an easy and delicious meal sure to please?  Give these stellar sandwiches a try!  These are great for dinner any night or any get together.  Your home will smell awesome all day!!

 Ingredients

  1. 3 cups beef broth
  2. 1 teaspoon salt
  3. 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  4. 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  5. 1 teaspoon dried basil
  6. 1 teaspoon onion salt
  7. 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  8. 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  9. 1 bay leaf
  10. 1 (.7 ounce) package dry Italian salad dressing mix

  11. 4 pounds chuck roast

Directions

  1. Combine beef broth with salt, ground black pepper, oregano, basil, onion salt, parsley, garlic powder, bay leaf and salad dressing mix in a saucepan.  Stir well and bring to a boil.
  2. Place roast in slow cooker and pour mixture over the meat.
  3. Cover and cook on low for 10 to 12 hours or on high for 4 to 5 hours.

 Note: One hour before serving, shred with a fork or slice thinly with a sharp knife and return to slow cooker to soak in the juices.

I serve these sandwiches on sub or hoagie buns topped with provolone or mozzarella cheese.  Waffle fries topped with melted cheese and green onions make for a great side!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Doraz permalink
    January 5, 2009 7:28 PM

    This does sound like a good one. I am Italian, so I will try out your version. I do not eat beef. I think I will also try it with chicken. Have you ever done that?

  2. garym1970 permalink
    January 5, 2009 7:35 PM

    I never have tried it using chicken, no. I think that sounds good though! If you try it with chicken, let me know how it turns out.

  3. January 12, 2009 8:23 PM

    OOOOOH MAN!!!! There is NO sandwich I love more than Chicago-style Italian beef…probably because my grandpa was a Chicago-style Italian butcher. Just reading your recipe made me hungry. I think I will make them for my parents and brother one night for dinner 🙂

  4. garym1970 permalink*
    January 12, 2009 11:30 PM

    They will kiss your feet! LOL

    Seriously, these sandwiches are stellar. Drop by and let me know what you and your family thought of them, I’d love to hear!!

  5. February 8, 2009 9:55 PM

    Can this be made in a crock pot?

    • February 8, 2009 10:27 PM

      Sure thing Megan! It’s supposed to be cooked in a crock pot actually. I love these sandwiches!!!

  6. February 27, 2012 11:38 AM

    I’m going to try and make this recipe it sounds really good! Miss you guys! When you start blogging again come on over and say Hi! Maybe I should have a Blog Party a Springs right around the corner party. Hey, I can serve up these sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

